Eriksons stages of psychosocial development essay

Development There are eight stages of development that Erikson suggests as psychosocial development, these stages are as follows; Stage 1 — this stage is the Trust vs. Mistrust stage, also known as the Infancy stage, which occurs between birth and one year of age. Erikson considers this stage the most fundamental. In this stage the child develops a since of security.

Eriksons stages of psychosocial development essay

Isolation young adulthood Occurring in Young adulthood, we begin to share ourselves more intimately with others. We explore relationships leading toward longer term commitments with someone other than a family member.

Successful completion can lead to comfortable relationships and a sense of commitment, safety, and care within a relationship. Avoiding intimacy, fearing commitment and relationships can lead to isolation, loneliness, and sometimes depression. Intimacy and Solidarity vs. Affiliation and Love In the initial stage of being an adult we seek one or more companions and love.

If negotiating this stage is successful, we can experience intimacy on a deep level. Our significant relationships are with marital partners and friends. The second crisis, occurring between late adolescence and early adulthood, is called the crisis of intimacy versus isolation.

Thank you, we shall contact you shortly!

This crisis represents the struggle to resolve the reciprocal nature of intimacy; i. Thus, youth must determine how to develop and to maintain close friendships outside the family, as well as how to achieve reciprocity in romantic relationships.

Erikson believed that when youth successfully navigate this crisis they emerge with the ability to form honest, reciprocal relationships with others and have the capacity to bond with others to achieve common goals e.

When youth fail to navigate this crisis successfully, they can become distant and self-contained; or conversely, they can become needy, dependent, and vulnerable.

If youth do not resolve this crisis, their emotional development becomes stalled, and as a result, they will remain isolated and lonely without social supports. Identity Moratorium — the status in which the adolescent is currently in a crisis, exploring various commitments and is ready to make choices, but has not made a commitment to these choices yet.

Eriksons stages of psychosocial development essay

The third identity status is called moratorium. This identity status represents high degree of exploration but a low degree of commitment. However, they have not made any final decisions about which beliefs and values are most important to them, and which principles should guide their lives.

Thus, they are not yet committed to a particular identity. They are keeping their options open. For example, Tim, 14, may suddenly begin to argue with his parents about going to the Sunday worship service at the Methodist Christian Church, even though he has attended this service with his family since childhood.

Instead, he likes to spend his timing reading about all the different world religions and plans to visit several mosques, temples, and churches around the area to see what their worship services are like. Or, he may question the logic of religion altogether, and he may even wonder whether God exists at all.

This free Psychology essay on Essay: Erick Erickson's eight stages of development is perfect for Psychology students to use as an example. A Reflection of Stage 5 of Erik Erikson's 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development Words | 3 Pages. Reflection on Erik Erikson's 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development Stage 5: Adolescence Adolescence is the fifth stage in Erikson's psychosocial development theory. erik erikson's psychosocial crisis life cycle model - the eight stages of human development Erikson's model of psychosocial development is a very significant, highly regarded and meaningful concept. Life is a serious of lessons and challenges which help us to grow.

It is clear that Tim is not quite certain what he believes yet, but he is actively exploring and considering what values, principles, and beliefs he wants to live by.

They are beginning to commit to an identity but are still developing it. Jerry Erikson emphasized the role of culture and society and the conflicts that can take place within the ego itself. According to the theory, successful completion of each stage results in a healthy personality and successful interactions with others.

While failure to successfully complete a stage can result in a reduced ability to complete further stages, which can lead to a more unhealthy personality and sense of self. These stages, however, can be resolved successfully at a later time.

Essay on eriksons stages of psychosocial development

Since adulthood covers a span of many years, Erikson divided the stages of adulthood into the experiences of young adults, middle aged adults and older adults. While the actual ages may vary considerably from one stage to another, the ages seem to be appropriate for the majority of people.

Stagnation middle adulthood During middle adulthood, we establish our careers, settle down within a relationship, begin our own families and develop a sense of being a part of the bigger picture. We give back to society through raising our children, being productive at work, and becoming involved in community activities and organizations.

By failing to achieve these objectives, we become stagnant and feel unproductive.Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development; Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development. Erikson’s Theory of Psychosocial Development has eight distinct stages, each with two possible outcomes.

ESSAY SAMPLE written strictly according to . Erik Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development is one of the best-known theories of personality and development.

Similar to Sigmund Freud, Erikson believed that personality develops in a series of predetermined stages/5(1). Epigenetic Principle The idea that human development is governed by a sequence of stages that depend on genetic or hereditary factors This principle says that we develop through a predetermined unfolding of our personalities in eight stages.

Eric Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development Essay example Words 6 Pages According to Eric Erikson, there are eight different social stages a person must go through as they mature.

Essay Erikson 's Theory Of Psychosocial Development Erik Erikson was a German developmental theorist in the mid to late ’s.

His theory of psychosocial development shared some qualities with those of Sigmund Freud. We will write a custom essay sample on Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development specifically for you.

for only $/page. We will write a custom essay sample on Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development specifically for you. for only $ $/page. Order Now. Jennyfer from PhDessay.

Hi, I am Jennyfer from PhD Essay.

Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development | Free Essays -